Willow Hole hike

The weather was finally good enough for me to do a long hike so I went out to Willow Hole which is a stand of willow trees in a wash which fills with water to form a pond after heavy rains.

Of course I took the long and difficult route to get there from Keys Ranch which took me deep into the Wonderland of Rocks, an area of granite boulders world famous for rock climbing. It is easy to get lost amidst all of the boulders and dry washes so I stopped numerous times to check my map and compass and even at that I managed to go half a mile in the wrong direction before I realized my mistake and turned around.

Typical terrain in the area

Indian pottery in wash

Nice boulders for climbing

 

I saw a fox crossing the wash in front of me but didn’t get a picture before he hid under some boulders. He was reddish brown in color unlike the gray ones in Big Bend.

Willow Hole

Last week there was a great sunset to where it appeared that the sky was on fire.

Sunset

Next week I head to Black Rock campground to be the campground host. I can’t wait, full hookups and great hiking trails await my arrival.

See you on the trails.

About Rich Adventures with Rich and Tammy

We are Rich and Tammy. We met in a campground in 2012 and married 5 weeks later. We work-camped for many years and even took real jobs in LA for 3 years. Somewhere along the way we decided to buy a small place in Yuma, Arizona and settle down. After two years of wintering there and traveling in the summer we discovered that we are too young and active to spend much time in one place. So we have embarked on a 17 month road trip Tour of America in our Class C motorhome, and towing our Suzuki Sidekick. Along for the ride is our Cocker spaniel Charlie Brown.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Willow Hole hike

  1. Bob griffis says:

    Where is Black Rock CG?

    I thought you would be staying at Keys Ranch all winter!

    bg

  2. mallory says:

    Hey dad sounds like you had a good hike!!!! My favorite picture is the sunset because it really looks like its on fire lol. And i would be way to scared to climb the boulders they look really high. Love you and have a safe trip!!

Leave a comment